Back to School Week….Too quiet?!!?

I must be losing what’s left of my mind.
Luke, my 9-year old special needs kiddo, who rarely sits down, started school this week and I was waiting very impatiently for that to happen. I desperately needed some chill-out-in-the-quiet-time. Some time to take a deep breath, pray and ask the Lord to refresh me. And all this was needed with Luke being home all day just 10 days before fall school started. He had summer camp prior to that.
Here is where the losing my mind part comes in. After Luke’s bus came the first day back (my older son, Brandon, started 8th grade last week) I straightened up the house and then spent some time praying. I got in to see my chiropractor after 2 months and the massage therapist in the office, Danielle, gave me a half hour massage. Heaven! After a Trader Joe’s run I was back home by 10:30 a.m.
Typically I love to read but after a few minutes with my nose in a book I looked around my living room thinking, “Man, it is soooo quiet in here.” Too calm and neat. Where is my wild, non-verbal for the most part, boy with autism? Why isn’t his brother Brandon here to push him off the new bungee chair so he could take a turn bouncing in it? And man, the couch actually has all the cushions on it without Luke here to throw them off so he can burrow down. I even started wondering why I vacuumed up all the food crumbs that get everywhere because it’s so hard for Luke to sit still and eat.
I wonder what it means that I miss the quieter times when I don’t have them but then I miss my two awesome boys when they aren’t home. When Brandon comes crashing through the front door and Luke dashes off the bus to see me it makes me smile. But after a couple hours of keeping up with Luke I’m back to, “Can I sit down yet?”
As is the case in every moment and in every way I need the Lord to help me be content in each moment and not be waiting (impatiently!!) for the next.

About morethanwords1

I'm a mom of two very different boys. One has no probelm talking, loves and is gifted at reading and writing and the other has a bright smile, amazing laugh but can barely talk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

